I have almost finished my English script but can’t bring myself to edit and completely finish it.

So, today so far (it’s 4:45) has been:

I got my hair cut.

I came home and almost finished my script for English.

I watched the end of Some Like It Hot, which was very very funny.

I watched When Harry Met Sally, which I liked because Meg Ryan is funny, and Billy Crystal is extremely funny, and Nora Ephron writes clever scripts. Unlike myself, who cannont write scripts for peanuts and will go poorly in this English assessment.

Here is something I’d like to share.

It is a very very shortened version of Pride And Prejudice:

Pride and Prejudice

“Marry well” is Bennet tenet: Bingley singly must remain
Since classy Darcy (Lizzy-dizzy) thinks he’s far too good for Jane.
Rummy mummy, jaunty aunty, these would drag both gallants down —
Plus the younger siblings’ dribblings over officers in town.
See the specious Wickham trick ’em with his tales of birthright gloom,
See how hideous Lydia’s ruin looms before she gets her groom;
Glassy Darcy saves the bacon, shaken out of former pride:
Is he Lizzy’s destined love, to shove her prejudice aside?
Has she clout to flout that matron, patroness of priestly coz
(He whose ludicrous proposing Rosings rules — like all he does)?
Darcy oughter court her daughter, destined his through two decades…
“Mulish, foolish girl, remember Pemberley’s polluted shades!”
Dare she share his great estate, or can’t Aunt Catherine be defied?
Yes! and ere the bells ring jingly, Bingley too shall claim his bride.

by Mary Holtby

2 thoughts on “I have almost finished my English script but can’t bring myself to edit and completely finish it.

  1. doomsoflove

    I quite liked When Harry Met Sally, I didn’t know Nora Ephron wrote it – did she write the two additional films I’m thinking of featuring Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks as a couple? Because I didn’t really like them.

    I’m sure you’ll write a fantastic script. I always admired your creative ability in primary school, and I’m certain it would still remain.

    Much love,
    LOOSEknee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

