Further evidence that I am turning into my mother

The monitor of our family computer broke awhile ago, and we got it back today, repaired good as new. Dad dropped it this morning, and I tried to set it up. But there was this little problem – there were no plugs to connect it to the computer :S

So, I called Dad, who was the one who unplugged the thing when he got it repaired. After I explained the problem, he said he couldn’t remember what he did, and then tried to tell me it was my fault, and that I was supposed to mgically know what he did with the plugs.
Does anyone remember when you were little and you lost something, your parents would say:
“I want you to have a good long think about what you did, and see if you can remember where you put the thing”. Well suddenly I had turned into a mum again, and said that to my dad, because I am stupid and forgot the bit about how he was actually MY parent, not the other way around. And then he tried to guilt me about not cleaning the office, and I said something along the lines of:
“That’s great. You can’t remember what you did, so you change the subject so you can tell me off for something. That’s very immature.”
Needless to say, he was a bit surly when he hung up. I felt bad as son as he did.

I called him back a few minutes later, and as soon as he picked up the phone I apologised for being an arse. And in a manner similar to a scene from a stupid hollywood movie, a random voice came from the other end saying: “Are you after Peter? He’s actually taking another call.”

:$

15 thoughts on “Further evidence that I am turning into my mother

  1. albatrossy

    oh dear, dont be your mother, cause then you’d have to tell yourself off for going to all those silly christian concerts all the time:S then what would i do????

    Reply
    1. skywaters

      You’d take me instead.. and then people would ask whether your in love with Kylie, Me or if it was some weird Love Triangle.. 😛

      But hey.. look at it this way Spally-Ali. It means that you care and that your not a cold person… 🙂

      Reply
  2. forgivenson

    You’re not the only one.

    I tell my parents off for things these days, too. In fact, the amount of times I’ve bitten my tongue from preaching the exact same things that they have told me off for years, is amazing.

    …This is just one of the reasons why I don’t get along with them.

    But the plugs – they’re over there *points*

    *books Saz for the silly christian concerts*
    I’ll take her place!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

