There is lots to do.

I got tagged by Bel:

Make a list of 20 songs you can listen to over and over and over and over again, and never get sick of listening to. Then tag five people.

1. In Christ Alone – any group of christian people
2. The Chain – Fleetwood Mac
3. For the Moments I Feel Faint – Relient K
4. Big Indian – The Dandy Warhols
5. Daves of the Week – Crying Out Loud
6. Every New Day – Five Iron Frenzy
7. Where’s Summer B? – Ben Folds Five
8. I Feel Fine – the Beatles
9. The Old Castle – Mussorgsky/Ravel
10. Joy to the World – Three Dog Night
11. Movin’ On Up – Primal Scream
12. Yoko – Able
13. Toddler – Maverick
14. The Ghosts of Me and You – Less Than Jake
15. Signed, Sealed, Delivered – Stevie Wonder
16. Amazing Grace – Jars of Clay
17. Contrapunctus 1 (from the Art o Fugue) – J.S. Bach
18. On the Road to Find Out – Cat Stevens
19. Gimme Shelter – The Rolling Stones
20. A Kiss to Build a Dream On – Louis Armstrong

And I tag:
Sarah, Claire, Mark, Brad and Dave

That list is more like these are songs I am listening to now, I probably will be sick of them pretty soon. How sad.

There is lots of stuff that needs to be done. The most intimidating of these is registering for Summerfest. Summerfest starts in 11 days. I am yet to:
– register
– pay
– work out what the hell I am supposed to be doing there
tell my parents

The last one, that is the scariest one, the others are just annoying things that need to be done. But telling my mum is something I have been avoiding, stupidly. She flipped out when I told her I was going on NTE because apparently she has banned me from going to Christian camps (I can’t recall her ever saying that beforehand but there you go). And so, yeah, I have sort of not mentioned to her yet that I am going on a week long kids mission. What do I do? As an adult, I am allowed to make my own decisions. But I am still a member of her household, so I should still be respecting her decisions and stuff as my mother. At the moment, I am lying and telling her that I am going away with Sarah (which I am… going to MISSION, baha). But I would rather tell her the truth because it is much less complicated (and also more honest). Rah Rah Rah.
Do I tell her that I am going and make her upset, again?
Do I lie about it and keep family harmony?
Do I just not go at all?
I think I need to go consult my Father about this (as in God, not Dad, cause that wouldn’t work really). Actually even now, I think the middle option is out of the question.

8 thoughts on “There is lots to do.

  1. waterphaerie

    In “The Hiding Place” by Corrie Ten Boom there is a situation when they are hiding Jews in their house at the time of a raid. They were all having dinner, and they only had time to jump under the table, hidden by the table cloth, and then try to get into a trap door under the table. The Nazis asked whether or not they were hiding Jews and the person didn’t know what to say- yes, and the Jews- and themselves- would be taken away to camps and killed- or no, and lie, which is against God’s wishes. She told them no. the guard checked anyway and fortunately the Jews had managed to hide in time.
    Basically tho, it’s sortof one of those hard situations where you genuinely want everyone to be happy. As hard as it would be i would think that yeha, telling your mum what you’re doing is the best option- there’s a chance she’d find out anyway, and i’m sure she’d rather hear it from you. She’s also respect that it’s hard for you to tell her that when it would make her unhappy, and she would probably respect you more for being honest, evne if she doesnt like what you’re doing.
    Also, being an adult it does mean that you have more freedom, that even if your parents are not keen for you to go, you have more in a say in it 🙂

    God will help you make the right decision 🙂

    Reply
    1. tibbycat

      What Claire says basically..

      but also I’d add that there’s certain things where it’d be the right thing to listen to and follow your parents. For example, if your parents tell you not to get drunk at home (not that I imagine you would, but well, it’s their house..), or if they tell you not to have people over at a certain hour or time, etc, but I’d think that as an adult, them demanding that you not go on mission to help kids find God is exceeding their authority. I can understand that they might be worried for your health that you’re taking on too much, which is great if that’s their reason for not wanting you to go on mission (although you’re on holidays now so I’m not sure how that could be the reason), but in the end it’s up to you I’d say. Pray about it and be respectful to your parents regardless of what they say, but ultimately with something like this, it’s your call I’d think. Just like other decisions such as what career you have, who you marry, if and how many children you have, and if you should buy more Mrs Mills albums, it’s not for them to ultimately decide.

      Reply
      1. waterphaerie

        I agree mark 🙂

        also, I think that if your parents can see that you’re handling this responsibly, maturely and reasonably, they’re a) more likely to be more willing to allow you to do this sortof thing and b) likely to notice that your Christianity- the God you worship and the Christians you hang around with – are good influences on you. 🙂

      2. lixila

        spal you should definitely tell your parents the truth, and soon. but i’m not sure i totally agree with mark. given that you are dependent on your parents, if they tell you you aren’t allowed to go, then you aren’t–regardless of whether they are exceeding their authority or not.

        but you need to talk to your mum about this alleged ‘ban’ either way, why you want to go, etc etc.

      3. Anonymous

        I don’t think dependence is as important as respect for their valid authority. After all, we were called to honour our parents. Jesus himself honoured and glorified both his Father and his Mother, expecting the very same from us (yes, Hail Mary!).

        Anyway, in terms of simple harmony, which would be the best way to send the Gospel message to your mother? To rebel against her, upsetting her and causing her to more violently reject Christianity as the “demon which stole her daughter away”, or to quietly and patiently heed her demands, showing that even though you disagree you still respect her?

        Monica of Hippo converted her husband through her prayers, and her son through her tears. That son was Augustine – one of the greatest disciples in all history.

        R (hi Spaz! =D)

Leave a Reply

