Something has rekindled my deep appreciation for John Donne and Relient K. They have very good words (although I can’t see Relient K being remembered over the next 5 centuries).

Man. I am blown away by it all.

I caught the bus home with Ryan today. I wasn’t thinking and got off a stop early, but the walk wasn’t that much longer. In retrospect, the bus trip was heaps like the old days of catching the 480 with Chris (except the extra 10 minutes to get between uni and Petersham). Back in the day, I used to catch the 483 to sit with Chris. He would tell me things he was learning and teach me what he was learning from confirmation and talk with me about my family and our friends. The amount I learnt from those conversations, I can’t place any value on. And today was another 483 trip to chat to a wise person and learn as much as I could before Ashfield.

There is a routine that happens when I get home. It goes like this:
key in door, turn key, walk through door, go to room, turn on light, dump bag, throw keys somewhere (they will be lost tomorrow morning), open computer, press silver power button, turn on lamp, close curtains.
All of this happens within a minute. It worries me that turning on the computer is so important, especially seeing as I don’t generally use it for very much.

Finally:

Wilt thou love God as he thee?
then digest, my soul, this wholesome meditation:

How God the Spirit,
by angels waited on in heaven,
doth make his temple in thy breast.

The Father, having begot a Son most blest,
and still begetting (for he ne’er begun),
hath deign’d to choose thee by adoption (has deigned to choose YOU by adoption!)
coheir to his glory and sabbath’s endless rest.

And, as a robb’d man,
which by searching does find his stol’n stuff sold, must lose or buy it again,
The Son of glory came down and was slain,
us whom he had made, and Satan stol’n, to unbind.

‘Twas much that man was made like God before
but, that God should be made like man, much more.

– John Donne

(+ slight stanza modifications to make it easier to follow)

5 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous

    that is soooo beautiful..
    poetic justice 🙂

    i thought i’d share this:
    “It is possible to offer fervent prayer even while walking in public or strolling alone, or seated in your shop, … while buying or selling, … or even while cooking.”

    St John Chrysostom
    Archbishop of Constantinople 407 AD

    mon

    ps. i miss 480 bus trips.. lots.. and i miss chrissssss
    i learnt sooooooo much from him too
    we should catch up with him sometime

    Reply

Leave a Reply

