Transportation situation

Car
I have booked my driving test, yay! It’s in a month, so that is a month to make sure I can do things like park a car. In an ideal world, I will pass that test and be able to drive from September onwards.

Feet
I finally got around to washing my shoes, and they are clean and shiny. And also wet at the moment. The Glenbrook dirt is gone, but the writing along the side wouldn’t come off. That’s ok though – the writing on the side is good. I think I am up for another walk in Glenbrook.

Bike
This afternoon I took my bike out again for the first time in probably 4 months. Being on my bike again made me remember why I have been going on and on about getting it serviced. As I was riding around the racecourse, I realised that my subconcious was being bothered by a high pitched sqeauling noise. It wasn’t coming from the racecourse – it was following me. It wasn’t just my ears ringing – it stopped when I stopped pedalling. So I turned around and went home to get oil. The only oil I could find was my brother’s valve oil from his trumpet. Oh well. He doesn’t have any valve oil left now :S
I loved it, I can’t believe I stopped riding for so long. Argh, what was I thinking? That’s right – it needs a service. I made a list of things to get for my bike. Here they are in order of necessity:
– a service
– a bell
– a light
– new patches and glue for my repair kit
– oil
– anything else the bike servcing people tell me I need to keep my bike healthy
– a rack to carry things on
– a satchel to put on the rack (because mum says that balancing a milk crate is difficult). Failing that, a milk crate.

So yeah, I am all for riding again! It was magical today. My hands were covered in grease from oiling the chain, and my legs were covered in mud from riding through puddles. I sat back and dropped my hands and me and my bike just flew on, we know all the turns like the back of our hands or whatever bikes have instead of hands. Maybe that isn’t very responsible behaviour. My near-collision count today comes to:
other bikes – 2
poles – 1
children – 0
cars – 1
soccer balls – 1
dogs – 3

Oh, what a lovely time. Hopefully there will be time to fix my bike up in the next fortnight and then it will be back like before, riding everywhere and being happy.

Trains
Catching mountains trains are one of my new favourite hobbies. In the holidays I caught heaps, but since ancon and uni, there have been hardly any trips at all. Yesterday I got to go all the way to Springwood and it was lovely. I like the way the sun goes down when I am going up and it looks pretty.

9 thoughts on “Transportation situation

  1. frohike

    Hi.
    I know your boyfriend.
    He told me about your LJ. I’m not sure why, but I thought I’d say hi anyway.
    So uh, have a nice evening.
    -Nomes

    ps. We’ve never met.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    hiya spally!

    missing you so much right now 🙂
    did you go on the ETC trip? if so, how was it? my friend veronica from church in 1st yr arts/science tells me it was great (not sure if you’ve met her)

    wow you have a boyfriend? gee its really been a while!
    we will have to catch up soon!

    hope you’re doing well
    mon

    Reply
    1. Alison Post author

      Do you mean Annual Conference? What does Veronica study?
      Man, I was thinking about you today. And I was going to put some Coptic references in that entry, but they didn’t fit and I wasn’t sure if you were going to read it. Damn, I predicted wrong 😛
      Yeah, hanging out sounds like a good idea. Saturday is my day off, do you want to catch up on a saturday sometime in the future?

      Reply
  3. Anonymous

    heyhey

    hellohello
    havn’t seen you in ages… havn’t had the chance to talk to you for an even longer time… 😦

    last time i THINK i saw you, you rode past on a bike maybe waved and rushed off (shows how long ago that was, lol)

    reading that makes me want to fix my bike too… but im too lazy, and i need to remember what size the wheel is… so… maybe another day

    until next time,
    see ya round ^_^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

