Love must be sincere

Where did my interdenominational love go?

I turned around today and realised that somehow I became an Anglican nerd – in the bad way. I have been leaning dangerously close to mindset that the only real christians are Sydney Anglicans or similar. Ow, that’s an embarassing thing to say.

Since my mum got back, I have been trying extra hard to be nice to her. I’m ashamed to say that part of it is very self-serving, but it is also a lot to do with seeing how stressed she gets over her kids (both at home and in the classroom), and so I have attempted to alleviate some of this stress by being as useful and kind as possible. I found out recently, however, that my share of her stress largely comes from the fact that I am a Christian. How to resolve this? I’m sorry to say, but a lot of the time the easiest way out for me during religious conversation is to find common ground in bagging out christians in politics, or loud american christians, or other stereotypes like that.

How did I end up here? I really don’t like this place where I am. I miss being at uni where there were lots of people challenge my viewpoints and encourage me to love all my brothers and sisters. Somehow being out of that extended community has made me forget that my brothers and sisters are real people and I can’t compromise my relationship with them because I want to keep peace with my mother the easy way!

Argh.
So I don’t know if I have posted here before about this, but there has always been some sort of tension between serving my friends and serving my family. I was about to say something like “I am going to put more effort into being genuine and loving with my friends and brothers and sisters”, but I know that within days that will flip around and my family will require all energy again. I don’t really know where to start in a situation like this.

16 thoughts on “Love must be sincere

  1. haiiroko

    your friends won’t get angry with you for putting your family first sometimes, and your family will forgive you for putting your friends first sometimes. what matters though, is you doing what you feel is right and best above all I think. serve yourself first, then you can better work out how to fit that into situations with others.

    Reply
  2. oab

    If you feel that your “interdenominational love” has been “lost”, pretend. I am quite serious, if you pretend that you believe something, you will eventually believe it. if you want, I can provide specific examples of this regarding girls and math tests, and how if you think you are happy, you generally become happy

    Reply
  3. darvids0n

    Don’t fret Spal. Jesus Christ is coming to town. Now that’s one holiday I don’t want to miss. An eternal holiday, how fantastic!

    A Christian is a Christian is a Christian. We all believe in the same God, we all recite the same Apostles’ Creed, and we’re all equally imperfect. So take a denominational chill pill and recognise that Anglicans aren’t splendiferously Biblically accurate Christians, either.

    Spally dear, if you really have to bag out Christians for your family to be comfortable then you’re doing something wrong. PK’s a Christian right? I think the best route to take would be to try and avoid stating an opinion in those conversations, and even better, to steer your family away from that stuff. You really have to have something else to talk about. I mean, your family’s way more active than mine and we haven’t had one religious discussion over dinner in my lifetime! Well, at least in the past 7 or so years.

    *hugs* It’s something which may be stressful, granted, but I’m sure God’s not going to smite you for it. Also, God has a very large ear if you want to talk to Him about it. I have a much smaller ear, but it can also hear, so I’m also there. etc for your myriad of Christian brothers and sisters, who all still exist and most of whom have phones and/or email addresses. If you want to be challenged, read the Bible with someone! Discuss a theological issue with a friend over MSN! (No, it’s not sin to use MSN once in a while :P) Find something to take your mind off family awkwardness and hurl it like some sort of mental javelin into God.

    This comment is almost the same size as your entry, and possibly bigger than one of my entries. That’s silly. I apologise for crowding your journal, dear. Hey, we should meet up or something. It would save me writing all this in here.

    Reply
    1. Anonymous

      i agree with the above entry and i have a small ear too!

      mon

      ps. when are you free? anna wants to meet up sometime early next yr.
      pps. going to thailand 10-23 dec!!! mission/fun trip with church people.. cant wait!
      ppps. i am now officially a jars of clay fan thanks to you

      Reply
      1. Alison Post author

        Haha, whoo!
        early next year is good, but it’llhave to be really early, cause I think my mum has us down for a family holiday around then.
        Yay Jars of Clay!

  4. Anonymous

    be true to yourself,

    if the topic of conversation isnt.. good, find something else that can be common ground (rather than religion)

    i mean, theres got to be something you can steer the conversation to,

    dont say things u dont agree with just because its convienent

    Reply
  5. pinhead22886

    “Don’t fret Spal. Jesus Christ is coming to town. Now that’s one holiday I don’t want to miss. An eternal holiday, how fantastic!”

    Thats gotta be about the lamest, cheesiest thing I’ve heard in a long long while.

    Reply
  6. Anonymous

    Isn’t it ironic that in a post about interdenominational love you can make a comment like “Thats gotta be about the lamest, cheesiest thing I’ve heard in a long long while”?

    Reply
      1. Anonymous

        No, you’re right, it isn’t ironic – it is very sad. In a post that is about interdenominational love (and the unity that underlines that) you make a post cruelly labeling someone else’s post lame and cheesy.

Leave a Reply

