Day at uni

Today was a special day. It was not a particularly special date, nor a particularly special day of the week (although I have always liked Wednesdays) but everything just seemed to happen nicely.

I arrived at uni and walked across the front lawn to see a sea of hands for Aboriginal Reconciliation. I planted a hand, and the lady at the tent told me to have a look at it from the top floor of the library. It was lovely.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The lift up to the 9th floor of Fisher Library had a poster to notify about the library giving away free books. It was chaotic up there! Half of the floor was available to take, and there were books from every Dewey decimal number except for the 900s.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

It was excellent. I got three church history books for Matt and 4 urban geography books for me, including Max Weber’s “Cities”. Yay!!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I didn’t go to any class at all in the end. I skipped my only lecture cause it was boring and went to do some reading. My favourite classroom at uni – the Geography classroom in the education building – was empty for me to use. I like that room. It is full of very old topographic maps. Someone had written a poem on the chalkboard called “Overflowing” – only it was written backwards. How strange.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I went to prayer meeting for the first time since semester 1 last year. I should be making more of an effort to go. In truth, I think I have regressed a little spiritually. I found it a lot harder to pray with different people than I used to. Hmmm.

The evening was an EU Arts social. We had delicious BLT sandwiches while the sun went down. There were so many people, and lots of fun conversations and delicious delicious food and many piles of old books from Fisher Library.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Matt came and we went home to eat pumpkin soup for dinner with my family. And now we are about to go to his place to watch Spicks and Specks and the Chaser.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The End

6 thoughts on “Day at uni

    1. Alison Post author

      I don’t know at all! It’s so weird, there was no advertising or anything until you walked into the stack. It seems like everyone heard about it by word of mouth.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

