News!

I have a new job!

My Liberal Studies degree is leaving me with two majors, one in Social Policy and one in Geography. And get this:
Anglicare has offered me a part time job in their social policy department making maps!

I am so so excited! Was there ever a more perfect job? My friend Natalie (a girl from church, although not from my congregation) lined it up for me. I saw her recently and was asking her about her work. She graduated from UNSW with a geography major and initially had a job at Sydney Uni with the transport studies department. She told me she had a new job, using GIS for Anglicare so they could map social trends within different parishes. My excited reaction was uncommon for her – not many people get excited about GIS. The next thing I know, she was lining up a job for me as her assistant one day a week. Apparently she is the only person in the whole organisation who can use GIS software. That being said, she is using a different program to the one we were trained on at uni, but that’s OK! I can pick it up! I had my interview and they liked me, and they talked about me staying for awhile, even after I graduate. The job doesn’t start til the end of September, but that is still alright. I am hanging out for it!

The only drawback is that now I am living in a two person household where the two people are employed by parachurch organisations – no, wait, two anglican parachurch organisations. A part of me is recoiling at the idea – I was sort of looking forward to finding a job that was outside of the Christian bubble, and meeting different sorts of people etc. But I guess I can’t complain – it was beyond my wildest dream that I would find a job so tailored to my interests and studies with such nice people. But such a job does exist!

In terms of other future plans (like my urban planning diploma) I don’t want to write them off. I am taking an urban planning subject this semester, as well as a pseudo-planning subject in Geography, and planning is exciting too. Maybe I’ll keep that option up my sleeve for later.

Hah! 😀

11 thoughts on “News!

  1. darvids0n

    ALL MY FRIENDS ALWAYS TALK ABOUT
    THE STORIES OF MOVING ON AND GETTING OUT
    THEN PACKING UP AND HEADING SOUTH
    THEIR HEADS FULL OF HOPES AND DREAMS
    THEY’RE JUST LIKE ME
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m sorry, I just really need/want to purchase the entire discography of LTJ since I have not one CD at the present moment. I remember the fantasticness.

    Oh, and in terms of something relevant to say, OMIGOSH CONGRATULATIONS! Map-making.. hey, you’re in good company. Karen’s also doing some mapping work. 😀 Map well.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Pinhead, your assertion is based on the assumption that the brand Sydney Anglicanism is monolithic in its thought and practice.

    It’s not. There is a huge range of variety, despite what is admitted to by both its lovers and critics, much of which deals with “the evils of the world” each day.

    And although you mightn’t agree with it, that doesn’t mean you can shake the dust off your feet and declare Sydney Anglicanism to be a caricature of Christianity. You just don’t get to do that.

    PS congratulations on the job.

    Reply
  3. tibbycat

    Do you love others like Christ? Do you deal with the evils of the world always in a very Christlike way? I doubt it. You’re quick to accuse… :/

    Y’see, like Spally and Matt I also work for the Anglican church, and I see the “huge variety”, the different theological standpoints, and people who actually LOVE within it. However, I also see the ugly side – the bitchy gossiping people who’ll stab each other in the back and the misogyny and powergames and arrogance that occur. I was naive when I first started working at Moore College and I thought it’d be all roses and butterflies and people loving each other all the time, but the reality wasn’t so. It was just full of flawed humans. What a surprise! But if you weren’t so quick to judge and so quick to label ALL people who attend an Anglican church or work for the Anglican church, then you’d actually see the people in there who aren’t like you claim. Your bitterness has closed your eyes. Don’t keep whinging. Actually change it instead! And believe it or not, not everyone who goes to or works for the Anglican church agrees with the culture of Jensenism that is prevalent in the church for the moment. It’ll change in time, but you whinging about flawed humans being flawed instead of putting your money where your mouth is and DOING something instead of playing your violin to the tune of woe is me, doesn’t help.

    And ultimately does your faith depend on God or on humans? Find those in the church who aren’t like you claim, and try to love those who you despise. I’m not saying it’s easy and I’m not saying I’m an expert at this by any means, but that’s what we’re told to do. If you just get angry, and stay angry, then nothing changes.

    Reply
  4. tibbycat

    And you found no other Christian who treated you with respect? Not me? Not Claire? Not Spally? Not the many others I can think of? I find that hard to believe and hurtful :/

    “God himself knows that I wanted so desperately to find exceptions. But I actually didn’t.”

    No? So what were we? :/

    You don’t have to change the Anglican church. If you don’t want to be in the Anglican church, then by all means, don’t! But be in a church. If you so desire then start your own church! But be involved in some way.

    “If, as you claim, there are people who attend Anglican churches or work for the Anglican church who do not agree with its culture and philosophy, then it is THEIR place to try and change the reality of its institutions, not mine. The fact that they dont, to me speaks volumes.”

    All it speaks is that they haven’t succeeded… yet. You’ll forgive us for not being perfect and for not having superpowers where we can click our fingers and change the Anglican church immediately.

    By “put your money where your mouth is” I wasn’t referring as such to physical money, but rather was trying to say to get involved and do something in the church with your fellow Christians rather than just complaining and doing nothing.

    Your use of the term “institutional church” is worrying. The church is the not the power structures of Jensenism or whoever the political leaders of the church are at the time. Instead, the church is the people, and if you distance yourself from your people then you distance yourself from the church.

    When I first became a Christian it was so uplifting to befriend Christians like you guys and girls who would get together and pray, and read and study the bible, and sing together and laugh together and talk together. It was wonderful and hopeful, and it was such a contrast to the secular world that I’d come from. I wish you could understand just how much of an encouragement to me the newbie Christian that I was then, how you, and Spally, and Sarah, and Claire et al all were to me back then! And then…. then sometime in 2006 there was a schism. Those of us who remained starting drinking… a lot, and we’d sit around parks and beaches drinking and bitching about people we didn’t like. And I realized, it was exactly like the secular world that I’d come from. I realized around this time that I’d stopped going to church on Sundays and didn’t care so much for meeting with other Christians. It was a low point of my faith. And it worried me because was sitting around drinking and bitching about people what Jesus and his disciples did? Heck no! Was it what Paul encouraged the churches to do in his letters? No! So I found a church locally in Campbelltown and started attending it. It was hard to get back to it. I hated the music (still do for the most part!), and I could see that some (Not all!) of the people attending there were less than genuine in their actions despite calling themselves Christians. I wavered in my attendance and it was a struggle. But you know what? I’ve sucked it up and continued to attend because it’s those people who trust in Jesus that I’m meant to be with. They’re not perfect, but hey, nether am I!

    “they love nothing more than to claim to be the representatives of God and his love on earth. But then when it doesn’t suit them, they love to point and shake their heads and say “Well, your faith isnt really in GOD, is it?” Let me just say this. You can’t have it both ways. Either you ARE the personification of God’s love on earth, in which case you’re inseparable from him, or you’re NOT the personification of God’s love on earth, in which case you are TOTALLY separate from him. There really is no middle ground”

    So what are you saying? That those of us who call ourselves Christians and claim to follow Christ should be perfect? That if we’re “representatives of God and his love on earth” that we’ll never sin and never hurt anyone? God is inseparable from me and from other believers, but that doesn’t mean we’re perfect. What you’re describing about sounds like sinless perfectionism. What about grace? :/

    Reply
  5. tibbycat

    If you’re talking about St James Anglican Church, I too felt snubbed by some people there. Not by you and Spally, but it was a very clicky environment I found. There were some who made it obvious that they didn’t care to know me and that I was invading their little circle, which obviously hurt.
    So I went to a different church and it was better. Not that my current church is perfect. Everyone is really young. Not their fault but it’s hard I find. There’s few people my age in my circumstance (most people my age are married and have babies so it’s hard to relate to them too I find). Sometimes the sermons are too evangelistic and not very helpful to people already Christians wanting instruction on how to live their lives, and like anywhere, it has some people who can be bitchy. But eh, if you find a perfect church with perfect people, then let me know!

    What do you mean by doing “something ever so slightly more”? Did you want to be involved in some ministry in the church? What did you want to do?

    “Apparently that’s what we’re meant to do”? Isn’t that what the bible tells us?

    “…And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”
    -Hebrews 10:24-25

    Do you think that the reason you haven’t seen us so often might not just lie with us? I TRIED to organize things with everyone again last year after the schism of 2006. One time I tried to organize to get everyone to meet up one Friday night to have dinner together in Newtown then see a movie but no one replied, except one person asking me who I’d invited. I naively told that person thinking there was nothing odd behind the question. No one ended up coming. The reason being, as I was told by someone else from the faction, was apparently that I’d invited Sarah. Geeze. Is it any wonder that I didn’t bother trying to organize anything with everyone ever again?

    Can you explain what you mean by “more than mere words”? What would you like other Christians to do?

    By being “in a church” I mean meeting with other Christians. Is sitting around drunk with other people bitching about Christians being in a church? What does the bible have to say?

    I quote Ephesians 5:15-21 from the translation of the New Testament by J.B Phllips: Live life, then, with a due sense of responsibility, not as men who do not know the meaning and purpose of life but as those who do. Make the best use of your time, despite all the difficulties of these days. Don’t be vague but firmly grasp what you know to be the will of the Lord. Don’t get your stimulus from wine (for there is always the danger of excessive drinking), but let the Spirit stimulate your souls. Express your joy in singing among yourselves psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, making music in your hearts for the ears of the Lord! Thank God at all times for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. And “fit in with” each other, because of your common reverence for Christ. (NIV translation is here)

    Or Colossians 3:15-17 is another good example too.

    I’m sure there’s other examples too. Christians after have always met together to pray, read and study the bible, sing praise, encourage each other, and so on. Are you doing this?

    You told me about your “imperfections” the day we first met. I didn’t reject you because of them. I still don’t, and never will. After all, I’m plenty imperfect myself in other ways! I’d like to know what it is we were meant to do in order to measure up to your standards.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

