Writing is hard

I am writing a report for work, and I am finding it difficult. I know the ideas that I want to convey, but finding the right words is beyond me. And then there is the problem of getting the tone just right. It needs to sound academic-y, but it also needs to be easy to read because it will be released to the media and if it is too boring, no one will read it. Ugh.

I feel like this everytime I write a report (this happens frequently in my job). My favourite way to describe it is ‘drawing blood from a stone’.

So now I will just return and draw blood from that stone, stare blankly at my screen and then write and then rewrite one sentence at a time until everything comes together.

How come Sam and Toby could write so easily in the West Wing? If only I was like them, but less fictional.

7 thoughts on “Writing is hard

    1. Alison Post author

      You know what bothers me about those two? Sam and Toby do so such work in the first three or four seasons of West Wing but after Sam leaves, they never replace him. And Toby isn’t doing any more work than he usually seems to do, but everything still gets done. Ahhh the land of fiction.

      Yes! I love this icon 🙂

      Reply
      1. Anonymous

        Will Bailey replaces Sam briefly…they also have a whole unseen team of writers in the OEB.

        Matt

  1. darvids0n

    P-sally (I hope you don’t mind your new nickname),

    Choose a random article from The Daily Telegraph, edit every second word to be one from a Today Tonight story and then do your sentence rewriting. Instant sensationalism!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

