I love my geography friends.

Just over a month ago, before she left for Thailand, Jen was stressing about what would happen to our network of geography friends and others (mostly partners and google employees). She had good reason to stress. For most of 2009, Jen was the glue that held this eclectic group together in its first year of relating off campus (although Bill and I took a little longer to leave uni than the others…). Jen joked about sending her regular emails from Thaliand to remind us to turn up to trivia, but for awhile it didn’t feel like a joke – it felt like a good idea to prevent our trivia nights from ending for all eternity!

Actually, everything turned out OK. Jen has been gone for five weeks and is about to come home, but all the while she’s been gone, things have kept working. It’s like we’ve all been trying harder to make up for all the effort Jen normally goes to. Or at least, that’s how I feel, and it’s been wonderful to grow in these friendships.

I love playing Ticket to Ride and eating delicious food. There are so many of us that we have to play in teams – Weird Mob (Bill and Marita), Horizontal Ladies/Ninja Ladies vs the Flying Wigs of Death (Amelia, Kate and sometimes Rosi), Spousal Abuse (Mel and Glenn) and Australia says “NO” to Domestic Violence (Matt and I). Jen and Tim have a team too, but I have never played against their unified powers. I love going to trivia (nearly) every week. I love it when Marita feeds us traditional Italian food and I love it when Marita bakes cakes. I love people staying at my house until 1:30 in the morning because the conversation is too good to end. I don’t love it when Jimmy or Brad drink too much, or when the conversation completely degenerates into lewd sex jokes, but I love that I can talk about GIS or environmental sustainability or urban geography and that everyone is on the same page.

So all in all, it’s pretty great that Jen’s fears weren’t realised. We’re all still friends despite her temporary absence, we miss her very much and we are excited about her coming home, even if it’s only for a week. The weeks after that will provide the new challenge, as more than one of us disappears. Brad has already moved to Melbourne, and Bron has spent most of this year doing field work abroad (I think she is staying put in Sydney now, though), but soon Rosi is moving to be an anthropologist in the Northern Territory, Mel is doing a volunteer project in Chaing Mai and of course, Jen is moving on again, this time to Tanzania for 6 months. But I think it’ll be fine. It will mean more adventures for us to hear about back at home!

Photobucket

By the way, Jen was published in the Sydney Morning Herald’s Heckler column a couple of days ago. Yeah Jen!

11 thoughts on “I love my geography friends.

  1. jennigan

    This post made me so happy to read. I love you guys! I’m so happy that you guys are continuing trivia and TTR, even though I’m sad I’m not there too. I got an email from one of my high school friends the other day, and he said he hasn’t seen the rest of the group since my farewell.

    I’m also very jealous that I’m missing Marita’s cooking and cake!!! But I get fruit shakes for $1, the best curries in the world, and mango sticky rice, so not all is lost.

    Looking forward to seeing everyone for those few short days!

    Reply
  2. pinhead22886

    What is it with people called Brad and drinking too much?! :S

    Nah, I’m drinking significantly less these days… 🙂

    I read that heckler column. Interesting stuff.

    In my mind the words to that song were always “She’s got a ticket to Ryde…” Maybe I just lived in the wrong suburb…

    Reply
      1. pinhead22886

        Yeah, some of them were a bit weird… I generally hate that stupid feature where people can leave comments on an article. Completely pointless.

      2. Alison Post author

        I agree. If people really feel passionately about something like that, they should write their own Heckler article, or a letter to the editor. Allowing comments allows people to say ridiculous (and often offensive or mean!) things off the top of their head.

      3. jennigan

        I read those comments, and I stand by my Heckler. The people I was ranting about weren’t ones who genuinely wanted to know about how multicultural Australia is, they were the pointing and laughing kind, saying you can’t possibly be Australian.

        Also, as soon as I spoke, they knew I wasn’t a local, so it’s not like there are benefits that way either.

      4. pinhead22886

        Yeah, I don’t really understand why people would take offence when people are genuinely interested in where their ancestors are from. If someone asked me, I’d tell them, though Wales and England are totally uninteresting…

      5. Alison Post author

        I agree but the problem is that people we’re asking Jen where her ancestors were from – they were asking where she was from.

        Wales is kind of cool.

Leave a Reply

