Winter

Photobucket

I awoke today and found the frost perched on the town
It hovered in a frozen sky and it gobbled summer down
When the sun turns traitor cold and
All the trees are shivering in a naked row
I get the urge for going
But I never seem to go

I get the urge for going when
Meadow grass is turning brown and
Summer time is falling down
And winter’s closing in

Now the warriors of winter they gave a cold triumphant shout
And all that stays is dying, all that lives is camping out
See the geese in chevron flight
Flapping and a racing on before the snow
They’ve got the urge for going
And they’ve got the wings so they can go

They get the urge for going when
Meadow grass is turning brown and
Summer time is falling down
And winter’s closing in

Apply the fire with kindling now, I’ll pull the blankets up to my chin
I’ll lock the vagrant winter out, and I’ll fold my wandering in
I’d like to call back summertime
Have her stay for just another month or so
But she’s got the urge for going
So I guess she’ll have to go

She gets the urge for going when
Meadow grass is turning brown and
All her empire’s falling down
And winter’s closing in.

– Urge for Going, Joni Mitchell

I know Sydney winters are never like this, but I think this song is beautiful and today is an appropriate day to celebrate it.

3 thoughts on “Winter

    1. Alison Post author

      I think it would be a nice novelty, if it only snowed maybe for a week or two right at the end of june. And then melted away quickly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

