Midnight in Paris

Last night Matt took me to the movies on a date. If you know anything at all about me and movies you will know that I really dislike going to the cinema. I hate being in a dark space for so long and then coming outside and realising that that was two hours of your life that you will never get back – even if it was a very good two hours!

This time was different. This time the experience was so delightful I would live those 1.5 hours over and over again if I could!

We went to see Midnight in Paris. I knew absolutely nothing about this film except that Clare had said it was wonderful. We found some seats at the back of a little theatre in Palace Leichhardt and I sat waiting to see what was so great about this movie. Immediately the film pulled me stright into the spirit of Paris with a beautiful montage and music. We were off! For about 2 minutes I was worried that we had wasted money on a cheesy romantic comedy but my fears were alleviated with the appearance of Michael Sheen (always Tony Blair to me!). And a few scenes later my fears completely dissipated as the plot suddenly plunged into being. Just like Owen Wilson’s character, my draw dropped open, and I sat there in the dark of the cinema, incredulous, mothing my surprise along with his character (“Zelda!?”). I was hooked; it was beautiful. All reality was suspended and I went along for the ride, only stopping occasionally to turn to Matt in the darkness, gesticulate wildly and whisper “this movie is AWESOME!”.

Photobucket

You know, I sometimes think, how is anyone ever gonna come up with a book, or a painting, or a symphony, or a sculpture that can compete with a great city? You can’t. Because you look around and every street, every boulevard, is its own special art form…

Please see it. Especially if you don’t know anything about this movie at all. It will make the experience even more magical!

When I came home I had a craving for Paris like never before so I went through my movie drawer and pulled out Funny Face, just to watch the Bonjour Paris! number with all of its shots of the city. I think if I get a chance soon I will also need to watch some of the other beautiful Paris movies in my DVD drawer: An American in Paris, Amelie, and my absolute favourite: A Little Romance.

Do you have a favourite Paris movie?

8 thoughts on “Midnight in Paris

  1. jennigan

    That movie was playing on the plane when I came home and I chose not to watch it. Maybe I should have! My logic was that I kind of wanted to keep my own romantic midnight in Paris moments to myself 😉 And not have those memories competing with a movie, no matter how good it might be.

    Reply
    1. Alison Post author

      Fair enough! Although I can tell you now that your Paris experience was probably very different to this one. And it could never better your story 😛 This one is more about romantic ideals and thinking rather than romantic relationships.

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Funny Face and An American In Paris are among my favorite movies. Another couple are Gigi, The Last Time I Saw Paris and the end of Somethings Got To Give. Keeping my eye out for the Gigi DVD.

    Reply
  3. ringsandcoffee

    So I’m not the only person in the world who doesn’t like movie theaters. It messes with my head to sit in the dark for 2 hours then go back into the daylight. Even worse if the sun goes down during the movie. But, I’ll go if there’s a movie I really want to see.

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    Diane

    Tremendous! This particular is all I can think pertaining to a blog post like this excellent. This kind of is literally a notably explanatory article post on the blog. You just need to know a lot about this amazing.
    [url=http://acnetreatments250.blinkweb.com/]Acne home remedies[/url]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

