Advice from Yiayia

Last week my Yiayia gave me some advice – and it was advice that her Yiayia had given to her when she was a little girl!

“Remember: poor people buy expensive things and rich people buy cheap things.”

Yiayia was explaining why, one time when she needed to replace the lock on her gate, she used her savings to buy a high quality one so she wouldn’t have to replace it for a long time. I liked receiving this advice. It was a good reminder to use money wisely. But also it was pretty cool to get a piece of relevant advice second-hand from a great-great-yiayia who I’m guessing would be more than 120 years old if she was alive today. I felt like I had travelled in time.

Leave a Reply

