A season for reading

When you read a book as a child, it becomes a part of your identity in a way that no other reading in your whole life does.

That’s a quote from the classic film ‘You’ve Got Mail’ and it regularly runs through my head.

I watched that film in the cinema with my parents as a 12 year old and I remember that quote. It was shocking! I heard it as ‘children read differently to, more meaningfully than, better than adults’ and I thought ‘No way.’

No way. How could that be? We were taught to read as part of growing up. How could a kid do such a grown up thing, like reading, in a superior way to an adult?

Well, unsurprisingly, Nora Ephron was right in all her screenwriting brilliance. It’s exactly how life has panned out for me. I devoured books as a kid and a teenager, and I can tell you about so many books that have shaped my outlook on life, my identity. And then I finished school, I had to read piles of textbooks and journal articles for uni, and suddenly I stopped reading fiction. I had forgotten how to lose myself in a book! And then when I tried to start reading again, well, it was enjoyable enough, but very few books – especially fiction books – have stayed with me in the same way they did when I was young.

This year I began properly working four days a week. I’ve had extra time up my sleeve for housework, for visiting family and friends, and for reading. It’s my season for reading. And I know that these books will never become a part of my identity in the way that my reading as a child did, but I’d like to try and remember it at least! I’m going to record and review this year’s fiction reading here. Maybe some reflecting will help these books to become more of my identity after all.

IMG_9929.JPG

Leave a Reply

